|
Is it possible to disable the automatic check whenever I make a change to a watch and save it, or even when creating a new one? Sometimes I'm just saving for paranoia or simply to make sure I don't lose any changes to go do something else, but nearly always I don't want a check to be performed, especially if I know it's not going to work anyway. I'm also conscious of making too many checks against a site and hitting some kind of limit then getting blocked. I did try pausing the watch before editing, but it still performed the check. |
Replies: 4 comments 3 replies
|
If someone wants to suggest some nice UI tweak (as in, a suggestion of how to lay out this activity in the UI) i'm open to ideas, i was also thinking about it but i couldnt find a solution other than yet another button in the [edit] form like [save without recheck] which feels weird and long-winded |
|
Personally, I don't think it should be doing it anyway. If I edit a scheduled backup job in any number of products or even in Windows scheduled tasks manager or Linux cron, when I edit and save changes, it doesn't suddenly execute the job. |
|
Had to bring this up again because twice this week I've been blocked by the site I'm trying to watch because of too many connections, and having to wait hours before it was available again - all I was doing was renaming and adding groups to my watches in an attempt to tidy things up which didn't require re-running the check. Maybe adding a check-box to the UI Options tab called "Run check on watch save" defaulting to enabled, so as not to suddenly change the behaviour for everyone, would then allow us to then disable the automatic re-run when saving a watch? |
|
I guess still no solution for this? What do you think about not running a re-check on save altogether, if someone wants to do a check there is the "Recheck" button on the main list. (if someone really need it after every save, a simple recheck/save&recheck button on the settings page wouldn't take up much space in my opinion) |
I guess still no solution for this? What do you think about not running a re-check on save altogether, if someone wants to do a check there is the "Recheck" button on the main list. (if someone really need it after every save, a simple recheck/save&recheck button on the settings page wouldn't take up much space in my opinion)